Follow Us! Like Our Page!

BC Government: Tree Farm Licence 61 allowable annual cut increased

Press Release

Oct. 31, 2019

SOOKE – The new allowable annual cut (AAC) for Tree Farm Licence (TFL) 61 near Sooke is 121,000 cubic metres, announced Shane Berg, deputy chief forester.

This new AAC is an 11.5% increase from the previous AAC of 108,500 cubic metres set in 2010. The increased AAC for TFL 61 is the result of new, improved inventory information indicating the TFL’s forests are growing faster than estimated in the previous timber supply review.

“After reviewing all relevant factors on timber and non-timber resources and taking into consideration First Nations’ interests in TFL 61, I am satisfied that the new AAC reflects new information on growth rates, current forest management practices and accommodates socio-economic objectives of the Crown in the TFL,” said Berg.

TFL 61 is held by the Pacheedaht Andersen Timber Holdings Limited Partnership, which was formed in 2010 between the Pacheedaht First Nation and Andersen Timber. The licence is managed by Queesto Community Forest Ltd.

TFL 61 has an area of 20,240 hectares, with approximately 14,477 hectares within the timber harvesting land base – an estimate of the land that is considered both available and economically feasible for timber harvesting, including deductions for economic, ecological or cultural factors. TFL 61 includes 6,151 hectares of old forest more than 240 years old. Of this old forest, 2,902 hectares are within the timber harvesting land base.

The TFL includes the communities of Port Renfrew, Jordan River and Sooke, and overlaps with the traditional territories of the Pacheedaht and T’Souke First Nations.

The dominant tree species are western hemlock (38%), Douglas fir (23%), yellow cedar (17%), western red cedar (14%) and balsam fir (6%). Less common species include Sitka spruce and deciduous varieties.

Quick Facts:

  • The deputy chief forester’s AAC determination is an independent, professional judgment based on information ranging from technical forestry reports, First Nations and public input to the government’s social and economic objectives.
  • Under the Forest Act, the chief forester or deputy chief forester must determine the AAC in each of the province’s 37 timber supply areas and 34 TFLs at least once every 10 years.

Learn More:

This AAC decision is available online:


Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural
Resource Operations and Rural Development
Media Relations
250 356-7506

Connect with the Province of B.C. at:


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More