Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Student Trustees for 2020 / 2021 School Year Appointed –

May 27, 2020

The Algoma District School Board (ADSB) approved the appointment of three Student Trustees for the 2020 / 2021 school year: Emily Hewgill from Superior Heights and Evan Tyler from Elliot Lake Secondary Schools as the Student Trustees and Amara Ruffo from Chapleau High School as Indigenous Student Trustee, for the Algoma District School Board, effective August 1, 2020.

Emily Hewgill will be entering her grade 12 year at Superior Heights C.&V.S. For the past three years, she has served on her school’s Student Senate. Emily has also lent her skills to S-Factor – a Superior Heights’ Talent Show and to Hawks Hanger – helping to organize donated clothing for those students in need. This past year, she also coordinated her school’s game during the Bon Soo School Winter Olympics. In addition to her leadership within Superior Heights, Emily has also served on the Youth’s Mayor Advisory Group, as a mentor for the Rebound North Mentor Program, and as a member of a select group of 60 students from around the province on the Minster of Education Student Advisory Council. Emily is described by her Student Senate Teacher-Mentor as, “…a conscientious individual with excellent interpersonal and organizational skills who continues to astound with her tremendous leadership qualities.”

Read More:

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More